Sewing: The Final Frontier

Star_Trek_funny_moments_WIP

This is how I feel about sewing! I’ve been learning to sew on and off again for about a month. At first, I wanted to make some peplum shirts. Then I realized why all the beginner sewing projects are things like laundry bags and napkins. Sewing is hard! There’s a huge learning curve. I don’t know what I’m doing.

Not to say that I hate sewing and am not returning phone calls. It’s just that sewing and I are going through a rough period of getting to know each other. Toes have been stepped on. Names have been called. Forgiveness has been sought.

Feelings aside, I want to present my first presentable and completed! sewing project.

Oh my glob! I know.  It’s the coolest Beginner Laptop Case you’ve ever seen!

JoAnn Fabric has a small, but surprising amount of Star Trek Fabric. This was my favorite. I brought about a yard.  Then I brought some quilt batting and double up.  For the lining, I used Christmas fabric that was 50% off.  It worked out well, since I ended up just looking like stars.  In order to make the comic covers pop up, I sewed around it. The lady at the store suggested black thread. I don’t know how that turned out.

The Lining

I actually took pictures of my process. But, let’s be honest here, I don’t know what I’m doing.

Lauren over at Introvert’s Introduction has a very good quilted laptop case. I would highly recommend going to her site and checking it out.

Until then, I brought a bunch of craftsy courses a while ago (when they were on sale). I’ll tell y’all how it goes.

Leave a Reply

